## 19.—Twenty-Fourth Ministry of Prince Edward Island, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 1, 1959; 22 Progressive Conservative and 8 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment <sup>1</sup>		
Premier, President of the Executive Council and Minister of Agriculture Attorney and Advocate General	Hon. Walter R. Shaw	Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959		
Minister of Public Works and Minister of	Hon. J. Philip Matheson	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		
Highways	Hon. L. George Dewar	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		
Minister of Industry and Natural Resources	Hon. Leo F. Rossiter	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		
and Minister of Fisheries	Hon. Hubert B. McNeill	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		
Provincial Treasurer	Hon. MELVIN J. MCQUAID	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		
Provincial Secretary	Hon. J. DAVID STEWART	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1953		
Minister of Welfare and Minister of Labour	Hon. HENRY W. WEDGE	Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959		

<sup>1</sup> Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

## Subsection 3.-Nova Scotia

The Government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Legislature has 43 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Legislature elected on Oct. 30, 1956 was the 46th in Nova Scotia's history and the 23rd since Confederation.

The Premier of the province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,200 and an allowance of \$1,600 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$6,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

20.—Lieutenant-Governors of Nova Scotia since C	onfederation,	1867-1959
---	---------------	-----------

Name	Date of Commission			Name		Date of Commission		
LieutGen. the Hon. Sir WILLIAM F. WILLIAMS. MajGen. the Hon. Sir C. HASTINGS DOYLE. LieutGen. the Hon. Sir C. HASTINGS DOYLE. Hon. JOSEPH HOWE. Hon. Sir ADAMS G. ARCHIBALD. Hon. MATTHEW HENRY RICHEY. Hon. A. W. MCLELAN. Hon. Sir MALACHY BOWES DALY HON. Sir MALACHY BOWES DALY HON. SIR MALACHY BOWES DALY HON. ALFRED G. JONES. HON. DUNCAN C. FRASER.	Jan. May July July July July July July	1, 1; 4, 1; 4, 1; 9, 1; 11, 1; 29, 1;	867 868 ' 873 873 883 888 890 895 ' 900	Hon. JAMES D. MCGREGOR. Hon. DAVID MACKEEN. Hon. MACCALLUM GRANT. Hon. MACCALLUM GRANT. Hon. J. ROBSON DOUGLAS. Hon. J. ROBSON DOUGLAS. Hon. FRANK STANFIELD. Hon. FRANK STANFIELD. Hon. WALTER H. COVERT. Hon. REDERICK F. MATHERS. LieutCol. the Hon. H. ERNEST KENDALL Hon. J. A. D. MCCURDY. Hon. ALISTATE FRASER. MajGen. the Hon. E. C. PLOW.	Oct. Oct. Nov. Jan. Sept. Nov. Oct. Apr. May Nov. Aug. Sept. Sept.	19, 29, 21, 12, 14, 19, 5, 7, 31, 17, 12, 1,	1915 1916 1922 1925 1925 1930 1931 1937 1940 1942 1947 1952	

1 Second term.